Geos 306, Mineralogy, Fall 2017
Professor Bob Downs
Syllabus
 Lab
Software
Old Exams


Lecture Notes
M-W 11-11:50, Modern Languages, Rm 311
  1. Mon 21 Aug. Introduction
  2. Wed 23 Aug. Origin of the Elements, Nature of the Atom
  3. Mon 28 Aug. Mineralogy of Mars: Cherie Achilles
  4. Wed 30 Aug. The Chemical Bond I.
  5. Mon 4 Sept. No class - Labor Day
  6. Wed 6 Sept. The Chemical Bond II.
  7. Mon 11 Sept. The Packing of Atoms
  8. Wed 13 Sept. Pauling's Rules
  9. Mon 18 Sept. Crystal Chemistry I
  10. Wed 20 Sept. Crystal Chemistry I, continued
  11. Mon 25 Sept. Crystal Chemistry II
  12. Wed 27 Sept. Midterm
  13. Mon 2 Oct. Crystallography I. Unit cells
  14. Wed 4 Oct. Crystallography II. Lattices and Symmetry
  15. Mon 9 Oct. Crystallography II. Lattices and Symmetry, continued
  16. Wed 11 Oct. Crystallography II. Lattices and Symmetry, continued
  17. Mon 16 Oct. Crystallography II. Lattices and Symmetry, continued
  18. Wed 18 Oct. Crystallography II. Lattices and Symmetry, continued
  19. Mon 23 Oct. Crystallography III. X-ray Diffraction
  20. Wed 25 Oct. Crystallography III. X-ray Diffraction, continued
  21. Mon 30 Oct. Raman Spectroscopy
  22. Wed 1 Nov. No class
  23. Mon 6 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth and its Core
  24. Wed 8 Nov. Midterm
  25. Mon 13 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth and its Core, continued
  26. Wed 15 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth's Lower Mantle
  27. Mon 20 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth's Lower Mantle, continued
  28. Wed 22 Nov. No class
  29. Mon 27 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth's Upper Mantle
  30. Wed 29 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth's Upper Mantle II
  31. Mon 4 Nov. Mineralogy of the Earth's Crust I
  32. Wed 6 Dec. Mineralogy of the Earth's Crust II

  33. Wed 13 Dec 10:30-12:30: Final Exam in our classroom

Class Project: description, due during class, Mon Dec 4, 2017
Mars Science Laboratory NASA Webpage